

Press Release - SAI, Pritam Siwach teams win big on opening day of 2nd Khelo India women's hockey league U-21

**19th February, New Delhi:** The 2nd Khelo India Women's Hockey League Under 21 was inaugurated at Major Dhyanchand National Stadium New Delhi on Sunday with the unveiling of trophies by Shri Harbinder Singh Arjuna Awardee 1964 Gold Medalist of Olympics (Triple Olympian) and Shri Devesh Chauhan Arjuna Awardee Double Olympian.

A total of two matches were played today in which Sports Authority of India A team defeated Salute Hockey Academy by 13-0 and Pritam Siwach Hockey Academy defeated HIM Hockey Academy by 11-0.

Harbinder Singh, who has represented India in three Olympics and who is also a member of the National Selection Committee of Hockey India, was present as the chief guest on the occasion of the inauguration of the 2nd Khelo India Women's Hockey League. He said that the Government of India organising the women's hockey league is a very commendable effort. He added, "In the coming times from these Khelo India Leagues, the country will get such promising players who will play for India and also win medals in the Olympics.

"I congratulate Khelo India and Sports Authority of India for successfully organizing the last two Women's Khelo India Leagues held this year and last year in U-21 and U-16 categories. I wish all the participating teams and players all the best."

Devesh Chauhan, present as a guest of honour on this occasion, who has represented India in two Olympics, while expressing his views said that the Government of India is providing a lot of opportunities to the talented players to improve their performance through the Khelo India Leagues. Now it is the responsibility of every player to work hard and try to fulfill his dream of playing for India.

Also on this occasion, Piyush Dubey (High Performance Manager of India for Hockey) who has been the coach of the Indian men's hockey team that won the bronze medal in the Tokyo Olympics, was present along with the administrator of the National Stadium Shri Dilip Singh National Stadium.

**EOM**